Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,228 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

Blog Bat Around: Why Do I Do This?

Posted by houstoncollector on May 14, 2009

So it’s time for another blog around, and Gellman wants us to say why we do the things that we do.  Obviously, I’m not doing it for the money, or for the fame.  Originally, it was to highlight my collection of Astros and Texans, and to possibly set up trades.  I’m lazy, however, and so it’s become more about actual news on the hobby, product previews and reviews, and opinion pieces.  

So why do I do it?  

I do it for the same reason that we all collect.  For the same reason that we write our blogs and bitch about the bad things, and promote the good things.

Because we love this hobby.

‘Nuff Said.

(A bit more, okay)

I started this originally in early 2008, but then fell off the map when I stopped collecting.  I came back in October, after getting a new job, and since then have built up a (admittedly small) following on the net.  I’ve had over 9000 hits on the blog (with 10,000 coming this month!) from 68 different countries including some that you wouldn’t think would care about baseball at all.  Each month from October through April has had more hits, with April nearing the 2000 mark for the month.    The person who has referred by most people to me is Cardboard Junkie (Thank you!)

Since October I have been added to mailing lists for Upper Deck, Topps, TriStar, and now Panini America.  Without people reading this blog, this never would have happened, so again, thank you all.  If I had one wish, it would be that my success here continues ,and that I actually get more people who leave comments. ;)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

