Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,842 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

It’s All In the Name

Posted by houstoncollector on February 27, 2008

It’s funny how names feel different at 4 am when you’re creating a blog and the next morning after you’ve slept. Sure, ‘Houston Card Collector’ says what the blog is for, but it doesn’t have any ‘pop’ to my mind.

So, with that in mind, I’m going to announce a quick contest. I want a better name, and I want anyone reading this to help me come up with one! I’ll send off a package of cards of your favorite player/team (probably no more than 5-10, but it may vary) to the winner. I may have what few readers I have vote on it, or I may simply choose it myself.

And stay tuned! I’ve got a box of 1997 Bowman Series 2 coming in the mail soon, and have my monthly shipment from MLB Cards of the Month coming as well any day (it’s funny how their ‘January’ shipment which is supposed to arrive in February is getting close to arriving in MARCH.)

2 Responses to “It’s All In the Name”

  1. Joey said

    The name is a tough one for me too. My name came from naming my Ebay store a few years ago. Third base is my favorite position but of course Hot Corner was already gone, as was Dugoutlegends and the list went on and on. I ended up settling on SqueezePlayCards since the .com was available and so was the Ebay store name. So, when I started the blog I just kept the branding going.

    My all time favorite blog name is Chris Harris’s Stale Gum.

    You have just started so now is a good time to change your name. If I think of a good one I will pass it your way.

  2. houstoncollector said

    Yeah, I like Stale Gum also. It’s one of my favorite blogs, after all.

    If I was a Cleveland fan, the obvious name would be ‘Cleveland Rocks’. Could always call it ‘Clutch City’ which is what the Rockets were called in the mid-80s, but then people might think it was a Rockets Blog.

Leave a Reply

 
