Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,800 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

So….

Posted by houstoncollector on November 3, 2008

I’ve been gone for a while.  Nothing’s been wrong, but as I said, I was going to quit collecting.

This lasted…all of three weeks.

 

Sunday, I went to a sports cards show for the first time since I was a kid, probably 20 years or more.  The big draw (for me) was that Mark Saccomanno was supposed to be there signing autographs.  I work with his sister, so we’ve discussed him quite often, and I’m an Astros fan, so there’s a plus for me.

So, I spent the past few weeks after moving gathering all my cards together, and organizing my base for both baseball and football, for trade reasons (I’ll explain later).  Once I did that, I spent the night before going to the convention putting my trade bait (AU, GU, some rookies and numbered cards) into a binder for trade purposes at the con.  This was a mistake, because they don’t like staying there.  Next show I go to (probably the big Tristar show in Houston come January), I’ll put them in a shoebox, all individually sleeved.  I’ll leave the binder for my personal collection, and just tape closed the top of each page.

Anyway, I had fun, and did some really nice trades, and bought a few boxes for busting, as well as a web camera to try my hand at video blogging.  

Obviously, though, my camera is not as good a quality as some other bloggers, and also, I didn’t do the 10 minute limit, so they’ll be on Vimeo, except that I can only upload 500 meg a week, so only 2 of the 3 videos are up.  If anyone knows of another site to pop a video up on (until I can get the hang of doing 10 minute videos for Youtube), let me know.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Leave a Reply

 
