Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,831 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

I use Beckett, yes I do. I use Beckett, how ’bout you?

Posted by houstoncollector on November 6, 2008

With all of the complaints about Beckett, I thought I would put my two cents in.  

 

I use Beckett.  Not as much as I did before they put their horrid new beta version in, but I use the organize feature to pull together data upon all the players that I collect.  There are things about it that I like, such as the ability to click on a player and have all of his cards added to my collection, and then the ability to block mark their cards as wanted or have.  Granted, it doesn’t work 100% of the time (Really?  You don’t include 2006 Score on football players, and 2008 Threads on baseball?  WTF?).

The thing I don’t like about it is that sometimes the server just … doesn’t respond.  Nothing I can do can make it respond properly, it just sits there.  Also, the ability to easily group new items together doesn’t seem to be working properly, as the 30000 cards I added 3 weeks ago are still ‘recently added’, which makes putting together a trade list difficult.

Now, of course, Beckett’s pricing is completely out of left field in many cases, and way out of touch with reality.  They really need to hire a few people whose sole job it is to search Ebay auctions and keep track of that data, as it is the most real-time real-world concept of how much a card is really worth on the open market.  When you have dealers SELLING at Beckett Low, then you know that your prices are fucked.  I seem to remember that the concept was that dealers used Beckett High to sell, and Beckett Low to buy.  This is obviously no longer the case, and I’m suprised that dealers are not up in arms about how Beckett’s prices are.  Were I a dealer, I’d sell cards in my shop at no more than 15% over the Ebay average, and buy them for about 1/2 to 2/3 that.  It’d be the only way to even come close to competing, and would mean throwing Beckett completely out of the picture.

Note to Beckett:  Either get with the program, or get out of the fucking pool.

So, basically, while Beckett’s site is useful for /some/ things….it’s far from the #1 resource that it claims to be.  Unfortunately, as long as the card companies (with the exception of Upper Deck, it seems) continue to ignore the blogosphere in favor of Beckett and Tuff Stuff, there’s little we can do about it other than boycott the magazines.

Leave a Reply

 
