Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,831 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

Reviews, an Explanation (And 3000 Hits!)

Posted by houstoncollector on December 23, 2008

So, with the fact that I am now on Upper Deck’s press release list, I have decided starting in 2009 I am going to start doing reviews.  However, obviously, I’m not getting free product, so what I’m going to do (in a slight bending of my rules) is purchase between 1 and 3 packs of cards of the product I review (probably retail, due to price).  

I will then grade the following areas 1-10, with 5 being AVERAGE.  Yes, I know, a C was average in high school, and C was 70, but guess what?  An average between 1 and 10 is 5, not 7, so that’s how I’m grading it.

Card Presentation – How the card looks visually, on both front and back.  This will be for the base cards

Card Checklist – How accurate is the checklist, again for base.  Does a team have 8 scrubs and 1 star, 6 of which of the scrubs are no longer on the team or in the Minors?  Or are all of the players major players on the team.  

Value – This is going to be less based on hits/box and more based on the perceived value of the autograph/GU checklist.  If the checklist is mostly scrub players?  This is going to be low.  Have a lot of mainline guys?  This’ll be better.  Now, if a company /did/ decide to send me a box, and it was a box review, it’d be based on what was in the box itself.  I do what I can with the tools I’m given.

Any other sections I should be grading, in your opinions?

 

EDIT:  Congrats to me on 3000 hits! Woo hoo! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
