Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,800 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

2009 Tristar Sports Show in Houston

Posted by houstoncollector on December 29, 2008

So the show is set for January 23-25, 2009.  I’m probably going to be going the 24th, as I work Sundays, and that’s going to be one of the prime days.  I was wanting to get some autographs, but then I saw the prices.  Holy hell.  

I love the Astros, don’t get me wrong, and I’m going to cheer my heart out when Craig Biggio goes into the Hall of Fame in a few years.  However, $90 to get any single item autographed?  I can buy a certified photo, or autographed card, for less than that.  Much less, in many cases.  Yes, it means I won’t be able to meet him, but …. c’mon, guys.  $90 is a huge chunk of change.   $65 for Lance Berkman, $100+ for some others.  

As much as I would love to meet two of my favorite players, and get autographs from some of the prospects (which is free, but they’re all on Friday/Sunday), I’ll have to pass.  I’m still going to the show on Saturday the 24th, though, so if any of my readers are planning on being there, drop a comment and I can bring trade bait.

(Note:)  Anyone have any idea how much James Spence charges to authenticate a baseball with 13 signatures?

2 Responses to “2009 Tristar Sports Show in Houston”

  1. austex said

    I was thinking about going to this show as well, but the price of the autographs is pretty outrageous.

    Couldn’t you just as easily go to St. Thomas High after a baseball practice to get Biggio to sign for free or go to a weekday Astros game against a lesser opponent for Lance/Roy O./Pence?

    Of course, on Friday, J.R. Richard and Jimmy Wynn are both signing at $15 a pop. The only catch is that the signing starts around 5pm. Still, though, those two might be worth the trip!

    PS- I assume that was you who won Mario’s contest? Congratulations! Any interest in trading away the A&G Ichiro card?

  2. houstoncollector said

    It was me that won Mario’s contest, and probably could trade it, sure.

    And yeah, I’d go to St. thomas or a weekday Astro’s game for the autos, but I’m in Austin, so that’s harder to do. I do plan on going to some of the Round Rock games. BTW, if anyone is in Florida next month for spring training, I wouldn’t mind some autos. 😉

    I’d go to the caravan when it’s in Austin, but it’s MOnday/Tuesday during the day, and I’ll be at work. Which sucks, since Bagwell is going to be there, and he’s another one I’d dearly love to get an auto from and shake his hand.

Leave a Reply

 
