Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,877 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

Holy Crap, NBA.

Posted by houstoncollector on January 27, 2009

Let me be up front.  I don’t follow basketball other than going, “Did Houston win?”  I don’t play the video games, I don’t collect the cards, and I don’t watch the sport.  That being said, the fact that the NBA has given an exclusive contract to Panini is bad for the collecting industry.  Competition = Better Products, or at least it’s supposed to.  Better?  Upper Deck still holds exclusive autograph rights to Michael Jordan, Lebron James, Kobe Bryant and others.  This means that the Panini cards will not have those autographs.  I’d be willing to bet Topps probably has some exclusives also.  

My background was in the video game industry, and when the NFL gave exclusive video game rights to EA, it stifled competition, and Madden has suffered for it.  I pity any basketball collectors as they prepare for the darkest hour their hobby has seen to date.

Shame on you, NBA.

Leave a Reply

 
