Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,877 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

2009 NFL Draft, Day One Musings

Posted by houstoncollector on April 26, 2009

Well, Houston had two picks in the first two rounds yesterday, and in the first round, Houston took Brian Cushing, OLB from USC.  Based on who was available, I honestly feel that this was the best pick possible, although my heart would have been overjoyed to see Clay Matthews (nephew of longtime Oiler Bruce Matthews).  Still and all, this is a solid pick for the Texans and immediately makes the defense better and much nastier, which is a very good thing.  He’ll probably have a solid assortment of cards this year, and if he does well, going forward.  LBs tend to have more cards than linemen (of either stripe), so I’ll be adding him to my collection.  Hopefully, being a defensive player, his cards won’t be too expensive.

In the second round, Houston took Connor Barwin from Cincinnati, who I’m less sure about.  I mean, it’ll give Houston some competition at OLB, DE and maybe TE, but I can’t honestly see him starting this year.  I probably won’t be collecting him at all, unless he comes out and shocks everyone (like Xac Diles and Xavier Adibi last year).  

On the University of Houston front, the Patriots took Stephen Vollmer in the second round.  However, as he’s an offensive lineman, he probably won’t have that many cards this year, especially since he was projected fourth round or later, so I probably won’t pick up his cards.  If Phillip Hunt is drafted, I may pick up his, however.  I’ll keep an eye out on the 3-7th rounds and see who I collect out of those guys.

Leave a Reply

 
