Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,800 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

Ebay Done Wrong (5/24)

Posted by houstoncollector on May 24, 2009

Today, as usual, I’m scanning Ebay for cheap things to pick up for my collection, when I came across this.  This is a 2007 Upper Deck Elements RC of Hunter Pence, numbered to 560.  It’s a nice card, but …. wait, what?  $30 or Best Offer?  For a non-autograph, non-vintage, non-graded and non-GU card?  Numbered to 560?  You’re insane, and you fail at Ebay.

3 Responses to “Ebay Done Wrong (5/24)”

  1. rastronomicals said

    Insane is definitely the operative word for these sellers as they probe the top of the market and beyond.

    No-one’s gonna begrudge them a living, least of all me. I’ve never bought a box of cards in my life, so I sorta need the selling-parallels-and-jerseys-on-ebay niche to be a viable one.

    But at what point does the service they provide to ebay’s collectors cross over into bloodsucking?

    Really, I should look at it as entertainment. Whether it’s 125.00 for a Bowman Chrome Orange Refractor of some clown who might never make it out of Double A, and certainly won’t be starting if he does, or a nice enough /25 patch of a decent enough player in Justin Morneau for the obscene price of $200.00, there’s always lots of laughs when browsing ebay.

    Actually, it’s kind of funny that you’re highlighting the Pence card, ’cause his was one of the first cards I saw in which this take-no-prisoners attitude was brazenly displayed. Hunter’s ’04 Elite is autographed, sure enough, but when there’s 825 of them or whatever in circulation, you’re kinda tempted to think 80 bucks is a bit much.

  2. rastronomicals said

    Insane is definitely the operative word for these sellers as they probe the top of the market and beyond.

    No-one’s gonna begrudge them a living, least of all me. I’ve never bought a box of cards in my life, so I sorta need the selling-parallels-and-jerseys-on-ebay niche to be a viable one.

    But at what point does the service they provide to ebay’s collectors cross over into bloodsucking?

    Really, I should look at it as entertainment. Whether it’s 125.00 for a Bowman Chrome Orange Refractor of some clown who might never make it out of Double A, and certainly won’t be starting if he does, or a nice enough /25 patch of a decent enough player in Justin Morneau for the obscene price of $200.00, there’s always lots of laughs when browsing ebay.

    Actually it’s kind of funny that you’re highlighting the Pence card, ’cause his was one of the first cards I saw that illustrated the principle. His ’04 Elite is autographed, sure enough, but when there’s 825 of them or whatever in circulation, you’re kinda tempted to think 80 bucks is a bit much.

  3. rastronomicals said

    Insane is definitely the operative word for these sellers as they probe the top of the market and beyond.

    No-one’s gonna begrudge them a living, least of all me. I’ve never bought a box of cards in my life, so I sorta need the selling-parallels-and-jerseys-on-ebay niche to be a viable one.

    But at what point does the service they provide to ebay’s collectors cross over into bloodsucking?

    Really, I should look at it as entertainment. Whether it’s 125.00 for a Bowman Chrome Orange Refractor of some clown who might never make it out of Double A, and certainly won’t be starting if he does, or a nice enough /25 patch of a decent enough player for the obscene price of $200.00, there’s always lots of laughs in it for me when browsing ebay.

    Actually it’s kind of funny that you’re highlighting the Pence card, ’cause his was one of the first cards I saw that illustrated the principle. His ’04 Elite is autographed, sure enough, but when there’s 825 of them or whatever in circulation, you’re kinda tempted to think 80 bucks is a bit much.

Leave a Reply

 
