Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3 other followers

  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 32,802 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

News For 6/10/09

Posted by houstoncollector on June 10, 2009

Apparently while I was on my mini-vacation (at Project A-Kon), some news slipped by me, and I thought I’d cover it all here.

First, Topps has announced the first Red Hot Rookie for 2009 Series Two Baseball, which is Fernando Martinez of the New York Mets.    I have to admit, the red border around the card looks very nice, although I’m curious as to if they’re on regular card stock, chrome card stock, or what have you.

09RHRK_SS_01

Next, from Upper Deck comes word of four short-prints in Upper Deck Series Two baseball, highlighting some ‘what if’ ideas from the classic 1989 Upper Deck set.  #801 is What If Ken Griffey Jr.’s rookie card was an action shot, #802 is What If Randy Johnson’s RC had Seattle instead of Montreal, while #803 and #804 are What If cards of Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush, if pop-culture cards were popular then like they are today.  While I’m curious as to what the pull ratios are on these (how many per box, case, et al), it’s a decent idea, and as always, I appreciate Upper Deck letting people know what’s in the product.

What If - Griffey # 801 What If - Reagan # 803 What If - HW Bush # 804

Leave a Reply

 
