Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other subscribers
  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,440 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

Farewell, and Hello Again!

Posted by houstoncollector on December 31, 2009

It’s been 22 months, and over 22,000 hits, and I’ve come to a conclusion I originally made in February of 2008.  ‘Houston Collector’, as a blog name, simply does not do what I want it to do.  It has no pop.  It’s too narrow in focus, too niche when there’s so many blogs out there.  Simply put, a blog this marginalized can never grow as I want it to.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve made leaps and strides in this blog, adding all of the major card companies to the list of those who send email and press releases, as well as adding Blowout Cards as a sponsor and partner, and Upper Deck as an advertising partner.    I have made some wonderful contacts with the other bloggers, and we have seen many changes over the past two years.

However, with the end of 2009, I have decided that it is also time to end Houston Collector.  As of December 31, 2009, Houston Collector will shutter its doors, and no further posts will be made here or to the Twitter account I use.

All is not lost, however, as I am proud to announce that on January 1, 2010, I will be launching Field Level View, a new blog focusing on the sportscard industry as a whole.  Field Level View will feature all of the features from Houston Collector, including in-depth previews and reviews, as well as box breaks and contests from time to time.  I will also be open to trading on that blog, and possibly will be doing group breaks as circumstances permit.  Also, if any bloggers are interested in combining on new product breaks, I am interested in possibly doing this.

Field Level View is located at http://www.fieldlevelview.com, and I hope to see everyone there in 2010!

Thank you all, very much, for your continued support.

Leave a comment

«