Houston Card Collector

Welcome home, Cougars, Astros and Texan Fans

  • Monthly Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2 other subscribers
  • My Blog Pages

  • Blog Stats

    • 33,441 hits
  • Sponsors

    Blowout Cards

To Those Who Serve, I Thank You

Posted by houstoncollector on November 11, 2009

I’m taking a slight detour today, to talk about something that I take very personally. While I may not always agree with our government or policies, and quite often may be very vocal about it, I have and will continue to have the utmost respect for those who serve and have served in our armed forces.

While it isn’t something that I talk about much, I entered the United States Army in late 1991. It wasn’t exactly my choice, but that’s not important. I made it through basic training at Ft. Knox, KY, then went to my AIT at Ft. Benjamin Harrison in Indianapolis. Once I got there, I found that I couldn’t breathe. I went from running 2 miles in about 16 minutes to doing good to finish in 25-30. We couldn’t figure out what was going on, and I knew that I was going to fail to make it out of advanced training due to it. I found out that as long as you were in training that you could go home at any time by simply telling your company commander that you wanted out. I was nineteen and stupid, so I did that, and ended my military service after a little bit over six months. Legally, this makes me a United States Veteran. Compared to those who are serving overseas, who have fought and died for my right to bitch about sports cards or anything else I want, I feel like a pretender.

Both of my grandfathers served in the Navy. Both were in World War II, and one was in Korea. My stepfather was a Marine, although he missed Vietnam, he still served honorably in Japan. The men and women in our armed forces fight and die every day to secure the freedoms which we take for granted on a daily basis, and freedoms which our own government seems willing to rip from us under the excuse of ‘security’. Many of these men and women are scared. Many may not agree with why they are where they are, or what they’re asked to do. However, they follow their orders, and perform their duties honorably, because it has to be done. I may question why our government is sending people to die in wars that are not our own, and that is my right to do so, but I will never disparage the men and women of our armed forces for doing their jobs and duties.

To everyone who has served in the United States Armed Forces, or is serving currently, I thank you. I thank you every day, but especially today, November 11, 2009. From the bottom of my heart, I thank you.

-J

Leave a comment